l Helping
Victims
Recover

Dear Fellow Delawarean,

The Victims’ Compensation Assistance
Program (VCAP) serves as an important
resource for victims on their road to
recovery. Part of the Delaware
Department of Justice, VCAP helps
alleviate the financial burden and distress
that crime leaves behind by awarding
financial compensation for losses that
victims sustain as a result of crime.

The intense and unexpected nature of
crime shakes victims physically and
emotionally. Financial awards provided
by VCAP help recover lost income and
pay for medical expenses, counseling
services, temporary housing, and other
costs that victims bear as they move on
with their lives. Inside this brochure,
you’ll learn how to apply for
compensation and where to contact
VCAP staff for assistance through office
locations statewide.

If you or a loved one has been harmed
by a crime in Delaware, please contact
VCAP today.

Matt Denn
Attorney General

Victims’ Compensation
Assistance Program

900 North King St., Suite 4
Wilmington, DE 19801

For additional victim assistance,
please contact:

Delaware Victim Center
1-800-VICTIM-1 (In-State Only)

Delaware Department of Justice,
Victim/Witness Services

(302) 577-8500 (New Castle County)
(302) 739-4211 (Kent County)
(302) 856-5353 (Sussex County)

Delaware Helpline Ask for VCAP
1-800-464-HELP (In-State)
1-800-273-9500 (Out-of-State)

The Victims’
ation Assistance
rogram

Helping Victims Recover Losses

Attorney General

Matthew P. Denn

Statewide

Phone: (302) 255-1770
Para asistencia en Espanol: (877) 851-0482
Fax: (302) 577-1326
1 (800) 464-HELP
www.attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/VCAP




What types of cxrimes

may be covered?

The most common cases for which awards are
granted include:

e Murder

e Assault

e child abuse crimes

o domestic violence crimes

¢ Kidnapping
e Arson
e Burglary

e sexual assault or sexual abuse.

What makes me eligible?

* The crime must be reported to law
enforcement within 72 hours (unless this
requirement is waived by VCAP).

¢ A claim must be filed with VCAP within 1
year of the crime, unless an extension is
granted by VCAP.

* The victim must cooperate with law
enforcement agencies in the apprehension
and conviction of the perpetrator.

¢ The victim must cooperate with VCAP staff
and provide all information requested.

e The victim must not have caused or
contributed to his/her injury or death.

What kind of financial help

may be available?

Compensation may be available for many types
of services. Examples include:

Medical and/or dental expenses for the victim
Mental health treatment or counseling

Wage or income loss

Income loss to a custodian while providing
care to a child victim

Costs of attending court proceedings

Loss of support for victims and dependents in
certain situations

Funeral and/or burial expenses
Moving/relocation expenses

Temporary housing

Change of locks, doors or windows to help
make your residence safe

o Replacing items seized as evidence by police

Cases may be heard on an emergency basis.
Limits have been set for certain types of losses;
generally, no award can exceed $25,000 unless
the victim is permanently and totally disabled,
where the limit is $50,000. Additional
compensation may be available for one year prior
to, or two years following the offender’s release
from prison or the date of the retrial, parole
hearing, or other court-related events involving
the offender.

What expenses are not covered by

VCAP?

You cannot be paid for lost, damaged, or stolen
property.

Benefits are not available for pain and suffering.

VCAP is the payor of last resort. This means it
will not cover financial losses that are covered by

other sources, such as insurance.

How do I file a claim?

Obtain a claim form online or call VCAP at (302)
255-1770 or 1-800-464-HELP.

The claim form asks you to provide general
information about your case. You should also
submit with your claim copies of any bills you
want VCAP to pay.

VCAP staff members are available in office
locations statewide to assist you through the
claim process. Please call VCAP if you need
help completing your claim or if you have any
questions.

What can I expect next?

After receiving your application, VCAP will assign
you a case number and request police reports
and other documentation needed to review your
case.

The time required to process your claim depends
on how accurate and complete your claim form is
and how quickly additional information can be
gathered to thoroughly review your case.

You will receive a written decision regarding the
outcome of your claim. If your claim is approved,
the decision will list payments to be made by
VCAP. If your claim is denied or you disagree
with the decision you can submit a written
request for reconsideration or file

an appeal.



