Dear Fellow Delawarean,

When it comes to
protecting our families,
safeguarding our wallets,
knowing our rights as

o victims of crime, or
understanding how the
law can make our communities better,
information is the key. Equipped with
knowledge, we can make choices that
greatly reduce our risk of becoming a
victim of crime or fraud, and we can
learn how to get help if we’re
mistreated.

The mission of the Delaware
Department of Justice is to protect
Delawareans from harm by enforcing
the law and being your advocate. We’re
here to help you, and also to give you
the information you need to help
yourself and your family. Inside this
brochure, you’ll find information about
Delaware’s Lemon Law and ways to
contact the Department of Justice for
further assistance. Together, we can
keep Delaware safe and strong,

Beau Biden,
Attorney General
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Delaware’s Lemon Law

Protecting Delaware’s Consumers

Delaware Department of Justice

Attorney General
Joseph R. “Beau” Biden, III

Consumer Protection Unit

New Castle County * (302) 577-8600
Kent County * (302) 739-7641
Sussex County * (302) 856-5353
Toll Free Consumer Hotline < (800) 220-5424
Para asistencia en Espanol ~ * (877) 851-0482

www.attorneygeneral.delaware.gov
Email: Consumer.Protection@State. DE.US



FREQUENTLY

ASKED

QUESTIONS

What is the Delaware Lemon Law?

Delaware’s Lemon law establishes standards
for when new automobiles should be repaired,
repurchased or replaced if they do not meet
the manufacturer’s warranty. The Lemon
Law contains eligibility requirements, notice
requirements, and sets out specific remedies
that a consumer may recover in a legal action
against the manufacturer if a vehicle cannot
be fixed to conform to the warranty after a
reasonable number of repair attempts.

What vehicles are covered by the Delaware
Lemon Law?

This law covers only new cars leased or
bought in Delaware or cars, still under
warranty, and registered by the Delaware
Division of Motor Vehicles.

What conditions or problems are covered
by the Lemon Law?

The Lemon Law covers any defect or
condition that substantially impairs the use,
value, or safety of the vehicle.

How long do I have to report the problem
to the manufacturer?

The consumer has one year or the period of
the warranty, whichever is earlier, to report
the defect or condition to the manufacturer or
dealer.

How many times must the dealer attempt to
fix the problem or problems before I can use
the Lemon Law?

The Lemon Law applies if the same problem
has been subject to correction four or more
times or if the automobile has been out of
service for more than 30 calendar days since
the original delivery of the car to the
consumer.

How does the law count the 30 days?

The 30 days begin with the first day the
consumer notifies the dealer and the
manufacturer of the defect. The 30 calendar
day period can be extended if the
manufacturer, dealer, or agent is not able to
make repairs due to circumstances beyond
their control.

What are my remedies if the manufacturer
fails to correct my problems?

The manufacturer may either replace the
vehicle with a comparable new vehicle
acceptable to the consumer or repurchase the
vehicle. The consumer has the right to decline
a replacement and demand repurchase of the
vehicle.

What are my rights if the car is replaced?

If the consumer financed the original car
through the dealer or manufacturer, the dealer

For more information please refer to:
Delaware’s Automobile Warranty Law;

Title 6, Chapter 50
available at http://delcode.delaware.gov.

or manufacturer must offer the same terms for
the financing of the replacement car.
Manufacturers must also reimburse incidental
costs, including dealer preparation fees, fees
for transfer of registration, sales tax or other
charges of fees incurred as a result of the
replacement.

What should I do if the manufacturer,
dealer, or other authorized agent refuses to
accept return of the car or claims that
Lemon Law does not apply?

We recommend writing a letter and sending it
certified mail return receipt requested to the
manufacturer and the dealership where the car
was purchased. Make sure your letter includes
your name, address, phone number, and
outlines the problems with your car. Include
photocopies of the sales contract and warranty
and suggest how you would like to resolve this
matter. You can also contact the Better
Business Bureau to take advantage of their
automobile arbitration program or you may file
a civil lawsuit against the manufacturer.
Consumers are encouraged to contact the
Consumer Protection Unit of the Delaware
Department of Justice for assistance with
Lemon Law complaints.

If 1 sue the manufacturer and win will my
attorney’s fees be reimbursed?

The Court may, at its discretion, award costs
and attorney’s fees to the consumer. Be aware
that if the Court finds that your legal action
was brought in bad faith, you may have to pay
attorney’s fees and costs incurred by the
manufacturer and/or dealer.



