
Dear Fellow Delawarean, 

 

When it comes to      
protecting our families, 
safeguarding our wallets, 
knowing our rights as 
victims of  crime, or    
understanding how the 

law can make our communities better, 
information is the key.  Equipped with 
knowledge, we can make choices that 
greatly reduce our risk of  becoming a 
victim of  crime or fraud, and we can 
learn how to get help if  we’re           
mistreated.  
 
The mission of  the Delaware            
Department of  Justice is to protect 
Delawareans from harm by enforcing 
the law and being your advocate.  We’re 
here to help you, and also to give you 
the information you need to help       
yourself  and your family.  Inside this 
brochure, you’ll find useful information 
for renters and property owners about 
Delaware’s Landlord-Tenant Code, and 
ways to contact the Department of    
Justice for assistance.  Together, we can 
keep Delaware safe and strong. 
 
 
Beau Biden 

Attorney General 

Getting to know... 

The Delaware  
Landlord-Tenant Code 

Protecting Delaware’s Consumers 

Delaware Department of Justice 

D
elaw

are D
ep

artm
en

t o
f Ju

stice 
8
2
0
 N

o
rth

 F
ren

ch
 S

treet 
W

ilm
in

gto
n

, D
E

 1
9
8
0
1
 

Consumer Protection Unit 

Attorney General  
Joseph R. “Beau” Biden, III 

New Castle County 
Kent County 
Sussex County 
Toll Free Consumer Hotline 
Para asistencia en Espanol  

• (302) 577-8600 
• (302) 739-7641 
• (302) 856-5353 
• (800) 220-5424 

• (877) 851-0482  

www.attorneygeneral.delaware.gov 
Email: Consumer.Protection@State.DE.US 

mailto:consumer.protection@state.de.us


A lease is a contract that the law requires 

you to follow, but the law also lets a tenant 

out of a lease early if: 
 

 The tenant’s employer requires that he 

or she move at least 30 miles away 
 

 The tenant, or a family member who 

lives with the tenant, has a serious      

illness 
 

 The tenant is accepted for admission 

into a senior citizen facility, a group   

facility, or a retirement home 
 

 The tenant is accepted into government 

or non-profit subsidized housing 
 

 The tenant enters the U.S. Military on 

active duty 
 

 The tenant is a victim of domestic 

abuse, sexual offense, or stalking and 

has filed a complaint with the            

appropriate agency 
 

 The tenant dies (in this circumstance, a 

surviving spouse or personal              

representative of the tenant may then 

end the lease) 

Like your tenants, you are required to 

honor the terms of the lease agreement, but 

there are conditions under which you may 

file for eviction.  These include if: 
 

 The tenant stays in the unit, without  

permission, after the end of the lease 
 

 The tenant fails to pay rent after 5 days 

written notice 
 

 The tenant takes a deduction from the 

rent that they should not have 
 

 The tenant has violated terms of the 

lease or other requirements 
 

 The tenant has been convicted of a     

felony or a Class A misdemeanor or fel-

ony that threatens harm to any person or 

property during tenancy 

As a landlord, you have many  

responsibilities.  A landlord must: 
 

 Begin making repairs to the residence  

within 10 days of receiving notice from 

the tenant that repairs are needed 
 

 Inform the tenant in writing if he or she 

breaks the rules of the rental agreement 

or neglects the rental unit. If the tenant 

does not correct the problem within 7 

days of the written notice, you may    

terminate the lease and file for eviction. 

Information for  
Tenants 

Information for  
Landlords 

The Landlord-Tenant Code is 
the law that provides the rights 
and lays out the responsibilities 
of  renters and property owners.   

 

Whether you are the landlord or 
the tenant, it’s important to 

know the law before you sign a 
lease. 

Visit the Department of   
Justice website at 

www.attorneygeneral. 
delaware.gov (click on 

“Guarding Consumers”)  
for additional information 

and a copy of  the Landlord-
Tenant Code Sommary 

Know the law 


