Who can get help?
The Delaware Victims' Compensation Assistance Program provides compensation to victims of violent crimes and assistance to their families for crime related expenses. Compensation is available for payment of medical and dental expenses, mental health counseling, prescription medication, lost wages, funeral/burial support, temporary housing and moving or relocation services, crime related expenses and other costs approved by the VCAP. The VCAP only pays expenses that are not covered by another source of funding, such as health or auto insurance. Property losses are not covered.
- The crime must be reported to law enforcement within 72 hours.
- An application must be filed with the VCAP within 1 year of the crime.
- Cooperate with law enforcement agencies in the apprehension and conviction.
- Cooperate with the VCAP staff and provide all information requested.
- The victim must not have caused or contributed to his/her injury or death.
What Losses may be paid?
- Medical and/or dental expenses for the victim.
- Mental health treatment or counseling.
- Wage or income loss.
- Funeral and/or burial expenses.
- Crime scene clean-up.
- Moving/Relocation Expenses.
- Temporary Housing.
- Change of locks.
- Replace items seized as evidence.
The VCAP may only pay crime-related losses not covered by insurance or other sources. No award will exceed $25,000.00. Limits have been set for certain types of losses. Please contact the VCAP office for specific limits on your losses.
ALL LOSSES MUST BE SUPPORTED BY DOCUMENTATION PRIOR TO COMPENSATION BEING AWARDED
YOU CANNOT BE PAID FOR LOST, DAMAGED OR STOLEN PROPERTY, OR FOR PAIN AND SUFFERING.
PARENT OR GUARDIAN MUST APPLY FOR ANYONE UNDER THE AGE OF 18.
VICTIMS WHO ARE UNABLE TO APPLY DUE TO PHYSICAL OR MENTAL LIMITATIONS, OR DEATH, SHOULD HAVE A PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE FILE ON THEIR BEHALF
For Help Please Contact:
Compensation Assistance Program
North King Street, Suite 4
Delaware Victim Center
1-800-VICTIM-1 In-State Only
Delaware Department of Justice
Victim Service Unit
In State: 1-800-464-HELP (4357)
Out of State: 1-800-273-9500
Local Victim Resources